When is it safe to forward face your toddler?

When is it safe to forward face your toddler?

7 Likes

They should be rear facing until they outgrow the manufacturers instructions for rear facing. Rear facing is the safest way for them to be. My son is 2.5 and I have no plans to foward face him anytime soon

7 Likes

Everyone has different opinions on this. But in California the law is 2 years old

Read your state laws. Then read the manufacturer’s recommendation. Then make your own decision.

1 Like

Laws are bare minimums of safety. Children should remain rear facing until they outgrow the seats limits either by height or weight. No set age.

9 Likes

At least 2. But maxing out the recommendations for your seat is best.

6 Likes

I moved my son front facing at 2, also at the same time he outgrew his car seat.

Ideally? 4. Legally? 2. Longer is safer

3 Likes

Check your car seat it will tell you

In WV it goes by what your carseat says. For me it was forward facing at 30lbs

2 yrs, at least 25lbs

My son is 2.5 & he’s front facing. He’s 37 inches tall & 40 pounds. In Kentucky the minimum age is 2 for front facing.

2 Likes

Our pediatrician said they should be at least 2 but check height and weight recommendations for state laws

Join car seat safety group they will tell you and I can post to

1 Like

Most state laws say at least 2, but suggest rear facing as long as possible. I know several children who are 3-5 and still rear facing. The longer the rear face, the safer they are. Recommendation is you max out the car seat height and weight limits before forward facing. Their legs being bent or “cramped” while rear facing is not bad for them and doesn’t make them uncomfortable like it may look.

1 Like

It’s really up to you. 2 years is when most people do it. But my now 4 year old was really big, and when he legs extended up the seat, we had to forward face her. She couldn’t do anything, and I’m sure it was very uncomfortable.

1 Like

How old is your child, height, weight?

I’ve always turned mine around at one year old.

3 Likes

2+. Check your seat manual and state laws

Depends on your state and laws change frequently. I front faced at 1 but nowadays it’s different…