dad and daughter duo write novel together, use proceeds to feed over 270,000 people

Dad And Daughter Duo Write Novel Together, Use Proceeds To Feed Over 270,000 People

Stella Bonner is just 10-years-old but that hasn’t stopped her from changing the world.

Along with her dad, Patrick, the two co-authored “Darien the Librarian” and donated all the proceeds to Feeding America.

dad and daughter duo write novel together, use proceeds to feed over 270,000 people
Image via Facebook

The novel is a thriller titled “Darien the Librarian,” and it’s about a girl who can magically jump in and out of books. It all began when Stella had trouble falling asleep.

“She won’t go to sleep, especially if we’re telling a story. She wants the next part and the next part, so we kept going, and one night she just said, ‘You know, this should be a book. We should make this into a book,” Patrick Bonner said.

The two had written just three to four chapters, but when school closed because of COVID-19, the pair finished the 41 chapter, 50,000 word book just last week.

dad and daughter duo write novel together, use proceeds to feed over 270,000 people
Image via Facebook

RELATED: Dolly Parton Has Saved Us All! Singer’s Massive Donation Funds COVID-19 Vaccine

“My dad wanted to publish, it but I didn’t want to. I wanted to make a fundraiser about it because we already have all the money we need. What would we do with the extra? Some people can’t put food on the table,” Stella said.

While the goal was just to raise $500 for Feeding America, in less than a week, “Darien the Librarian” has raised more than $10,000 from family, friends and good samaritans along the way.

“I think it’s one of those things where everyone is so caught off right now that it kind of gives you a sense of community, and it’s just been one of those things that has brought a lot of people together, and we’re very proud of Stella,” Patrick Bonner said.

dad and daughter duo write novel together, use proceeds to feed over 270,000 people
Image via Facebook

RELATED: Bullied Boy with Dwarfism Who Went Viral Gifts Astounding $461,000 Received in Donations to Charity

“My daughter Stella and I have written a Middle Grade Fantasy Novel (in the vein of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson – with a focus on strong girls!). I wanted to publish it, Stella wanted to give it away,” the Facebook Fundraiser post began.

“And if you have a daughter, you know it’s impossible to say no to them. So for anyone who donates $10 or more, please let us know and we will send you an e-copy of the book. We’ve used our time spent together in quarantine to sit down and write a full-blown novel based on a bedtime story I used to tell her.”

“Be warned: this is 41 chapters and an epilogue… over 50,000 words worth of story. This is for serious readers and, even more so, the seriously generous. So please give to this wonderful charity, and we will give to you. Plain and simple.”

About Mamas Uncut

Mamas Uncut is THE online place for moms. We cover the latest about motherhood, parenting, and entertainment as well – all with a mom-focused twist. So if you're looking for parenting advice from real parents, we have plenty of it, all for moms from moms, and also experts. Because, at the end of the day, our mission is focused solely on empowering moms and moms-to-be with the knowledge and answers they’re looking for in one safe space.

.